Events

You can brush up your identification skills, help on a conservation task, see a rare species or just enjoy a beautiful site.

To find an event near you just select your branch area (see In Your Area to find the closest branch to you) and then click the Filter button. You can also refine your selection using the Categories on the left-hand panel.

Cumbria Field Trip

Thursday 24th May 2018, 10.30am-3.00pm
Ormsgill Slag Banks Barrow In Furness

Butterflies of Ormsgill Slag Banks and optional visit to Sandscale Haws for flora and fauna

Cumbria Field Trip

Tuesday 29th May 2018, 10.30am-2.00pm
Holme Stinted Pasture Burton In Kendal

Butterflies and spring flora at Holme Stinted Pasture and Holme Park Fell

Cumbria Field Trip

Saturday 2nd June 2018, 10.45am-3.00pm
Irton Fell Eskdale Green

Mountain Ringlet at Irton Fell

Cumbria Field Trip

Sunday 3rd June 2018, 10.30am-3.00pm
Finglandrigg Wood Haverlands Car Park

Marsh Fritillaries

Cumbria Field Trip

Tuesday 5th June 2018, 10.30am-1.00pm
Farrer's Allotment Whitbarrow Levens

Pearl-bordered and Small Pearl-bordered Fritillaries. Option to Gillbirks for Duke of Burgundy

Cumbria Moth Event

Friday 8th June 2018, 10.30am-3.30pm
Roudsea And Rusland Valley

Targeting Argent and Sable Moth at Roudsea Moss and then surveying the Rusland Valley for the moth and its food plant

Cumbria Field Trip

Wednesday 20th June 2018, 11.00am-3.00pm
Halecat And Nicholls Moss Witherslack

Small Pearl-bordered Fritillary, Northern Brown Argus and Large Heath

Cumbria Field Trip

Wednesday 4th July 2018, 10.30am-4.00pm
Hutton Roof Crags, Burton in Kendal

High Brown, Dark Green and (late) Small Pearl-bordered Fritillaries Common Blue and Grayling

Cumbria Field Trip

Monday 9th July 2018, 11.00am-2.30pm
Hampsfield Allotment Lindale

High Brown and Dark Green Fritillaries, Hampsfell and Hampsfield Allotment

Cumbria Moth Night

Friday 20th to Saturday 21st July 2018, 9.15pm-10.00am
Plumgarths Kendal

Examining the overnight collection of moths at Plumgarths

Cumbria Moth Night

Friday 27th to Saturday 28th July 2018, 9.00pm-8.30am
Great Wood Derwent Water Keswick

Examine moth collection at Great Wood, Keswick

Cumbria Moth Night

Friday 3rd August 2018, 9.00pm-10.00am
Brantwood, East side Coniston Water

Examining the overnight moth collection at Brantwood

Cumbria Field Trip

Saturday 4th August 2018, 1.00pm-5.00pm
Allithwaite Quarry, Wartbarrow And Humphrey Head

Northern Brown Argus, Wall and White-letter Hairstreak on limestone grassland

Cumbria Field Trip

Wednesday 8th August 2018, 10.00am-3.00pm
Witherslack Woods And Howe Ridding, Witherslack

Silver-washed, High Brown and Dark Green Fritillaries, Common Blue and possibly Northern Brown Argus

Cumbria Field Trip

Thursday 9th August 2018, 10.00am-3.00pm
Smardale Gill Nature Reserve Kirkby Stephen

Targeted Scotch Argus plus hopefully another dozen common species

Cumbria Moth Night

Friday 10th to Saturday 11th August 2018, 8.45pm-10.00am
Footprint St Catherine's, Patterdale Rd, Windermere

Examining the night's moth collectiom

Cumbria Field Trip

Saturday 11th August 2018, 9.15am-1.00pm
Gait Barrows NNR Triangle Arnside/Siverdale/Beetham

Brown and Purple Hairstreaks, hopefully both adults and eggs

Cumbria Moth Night

Wednesday 15th August 2018: 8.45pm
Latterbarrow Witherslack

Examination of the evening's collection at Latterbarrow

Cumbria Field Trip

Sunday 19th August 2018, 10.00am-1.00pm
Underbarrow Road Kendal

Small Tortoiseshell, Red Admiral, Peacock, Painted Lady, Comma and other late summer butterflies